Industrial networking for the IoT training

| Information and Communication Technology

Training courses are being planned in the UK for the use of PROFINET as a building block for creating industrial internet of things networks.

With OPC Unified Architecture (OPC UA) now specified alongside PROFINET as main building blocks for Industry 4.0 and by extension, the Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT), the need for training in these technologies is even more important for anyone involved in the development, implementation and operation of systems for IIoT.

The service-oriented architecture of OPC UA (Unified Architecture) is designated to become the link for the non-deterministic communication between devices such as operator stations via the controller level, or for production data from devices to corporate IT. PROFINET takes over the transmission of deterministic real-time data and control-relevant acyclic data in automation systems. PROFINET and OPC UA are therefore already a perfect complement to one another today because PROFINET allows open communication based on TCP/IP in parallel without additional expense.

Engineers and designers wishing to improve their career prospects around IIoT will be able to take advantage of a number of opportunities for certified professional training in both PROFINET and OPC here in the UK during October and November.

Certified OPC Professional training will be available in London and Manchester in October and remotely over the internet during September, October and December.  Certified PROFINET training will be available in Manchester in October and Reading in November.

The certified PROFINET training will be presented by PI UK’s two PITCs, Manchester Metropolitan University (MMU) and Verwer Training & Consultancy Ltd. Both organisations are authorised by PROFIBUS & PROFINET International (PI) to deliver PI’s certified courses leading to internationally-recognised accreditation as Certified PROFINET Engineers or Installers .

The OPC training will be presented by the highly respected, vendor-independent OPC Training Institute and will provide an in-depth study of OPC technology, its DCOM backbone, required security settings, and a lot of practical hands-on troubleshooting techniques and exercises. The training consisting of 4 modules, each of 12 hours delivered over the course of a week. Students can enroll for one or more of the modules, subject to ability and availability. Level 3 is essential for OPC UA understanding. Students receive a Certified OPC Professional (COP) certificate with each level of training, and earn the full Certified OPC Professional designation upon completion of all four levels of training.


The PROFINET training runs over 3 days and starts with the Certified PROFINET Installer course, an essential course for electrical engineers and technicians needing to upgrade their skills to include industrial ethernet installation. This one-day, hands-on course teaches the design, installation and testing of complete PROFINET networks and will teach delegates how to avoid common, but potentially expensive, installation problems.

This leads to the Certified PROFINET Engineer course, which provides detailed technical knowledge of PROFINET technology and the advantages it offers your automation and production processes. At the end of the training there is a theory exam. Participants who pass get the title Certified PROFINET Engineer and are awarded an official certificate. Successful participants will have the confidence to evaluate PROFINET as a solution for their automation requirements and be able to design a proper application.

OPC Training Modules

Level 1: OPC and DCOM Diagnostics – How to troubleshoot and repair DCOM problems. The class covers the most common OPC specifications: OPC DA, OPC HDA, OPC A&E, OPC UA, and OPC .NET. Students also get to practice OPC concepts such as client/server architecture, tunneling, bridging, and redundancy.

Level 2: OPC Security – How to secure OPC implementations by configuring their firewall, Data Execution Prevention, Windows Authentication, Access Control Lists (ACL), Windows Services, Demilitarized Zone (DMZ) implementation, and how to continuously monitor the health of their real-time communication system. This enables plants to comply with IT, industrial, and federal regulations.

Level 3: OPC Unified Architecture (OPC UA) – Students learn the OPC Unified Architecture (OPC UA) set of specifications. The hands-on class covers the security model that enhances Classic OPC capabilities. Students explore OPC UA’s data information model and data transportation, which now use Web Services and binary protocols to eliminate reliance on Microsoft’s DCOM technology.

Level 4: Advanced OPC Projects – Students learn advanced integration project requirements that affect machines, plants, and SCADA. They setup firewall ports to enable OPC communication. They setup a VPN to tunnel through firewalls and NAT. Students also discuss FAT and SAT (Factory / Site Acceptance Testing) to comply with IT, industrial, and federal regulations.

Related news

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *